End of this road….

Posted: June 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

I have decided to no longer compete.

While I am pretty sad about this, I am looking forward to all of the other things that are in store for me. Back in the fall, I came to this same conclusion, and then really pushed to try. Truth is, it’s too hard, and is causing me to LOSE balance, which is not at all what I want, or need.

Being a mom and a wife, and still trying to figure out ‘me’, takes a lot of time, and effort. Fitness is my lifestyle. Competing is a hobby. A hobby (in my humble opinion) should not be something that causes stress. Long and short of it? It was. So, I have decided to carve myself out another path.

I am sad, my life feels like it is shifting….and as we all know, change is both uncomfortable, and hard. I am no quitter. I will take all the challenges that come at me in stride.

Lots of emotion whirling around in my head, and in my heart, so for now, one day at a time.

What will I be when I grow up? Who knows…but the possibilities are endless πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. Wendy Moore says:

    LIz- I completely respect your decision. Competing and balancing home and work was such a struggle for me. I can only imagine if I had children to take care of like you do. Kudos to you and you will find your niche!

    Wendy

  2. Laura says:

    You are so brave and smart to make this decision. I have been in similar shoes with riding and how to balance being competitive while raising a family, and like you, I had to decide that it wasn’t worth all the time that I had to spend away from my kids. I do feel like part of me is missing at times, but I’ve promised myself that I will go back one day, maybe once I’m retired and the kids have moved out, but knowing that is all I need to get over the guilt. Until you figure out your next goal, you can continue to be awesome super fit Liz and keep encouraging the rest of us to be our best selves πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for those encouraging words. Doing the right thing isn’t always easy, but I do believe in my heart that it is what’s right. πŸ™‚ I will continue to be super fit, because I love crazy training sessions and playing, and to live super long to enjoy my family.

  3. Jessica says:

    Really well said. You definitely are no quitter! That is not an easy descision to make. Very proud of you. Xo

  4. K says:

    You are a fierce competitor: you give 110% to everything you do….training, eating, being a fabulous wife, mother, sister and daughter. You have to have balance and not tip the scales. You will always be active and a role model to your kids for health and fitness now you can relax, continue to train and do the things you love and have fun! Enjoy! You will be fab at 40! OM…

  5. Wendy Green says:

    Liz, you inspire me and will continue to inspire me and I am glad I got to tell you that in person! πŸ™‚
    I am very proud of your accomplishments & am sure there are many more out there just waiting for you to find & climb them!

Leave a Reply

