Staying inspired by setting mini goals….25 weeks to the stage.

Posted: March 24, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

It feels ridiculous to be counting down from this far…but I am determined this time around to do a long, slow prep…with as LITTLE pain as possible…

My last prep it took me to see pictures of myself at 12 weeks to behave. At 27 weeks, I decided this time, I was ready. It is going to be MUCH more gradual.

The last two weeks have brought ups and downs…I am still fighting with insecurity. Some days I feel really really strong, and that I can conquer the world, with my 5am crazy cardio sessions, and then killing it in the gym lifting heavy.

Other days I walked around like a zombie…barely able to put one foot in front of the other. This comes with the territory I guess…and being ‘inspired’ for 25 weeks is a LONG time let me tell you. The way I have decided to manage this, is to set ‘mini’ interim goals for myself.

My first mini goal is Jamaica. We are headed there in a few weeks for a wedding, and I told myself that I am going to be wearing a ridiculously teeny bikini… 🙂 this has kept me pretty on point with diet in the last 2 weeks. I even baked cookies with not so much as a lick of the batter, or bite of a single cookie.

Mini goal #2 is in July. I will be turning 40, and decided that I am going to do a photo shoot, hopefully in which I will be the fittest I have ever been.

My big goal for this year will be when I walk onto that stage in Hamilton, at the OPA Natural Provincials. I am working really hard, and plan on keeping up the intensity. I love a good challenge…

Until then, I am focusing on mini goal 1…and now off to find that ridiculous bikini. 🙂

20130323-220545.jpg

Comments
  1. jill4buff says:

    I can really related to this post! I competed last year for the first time at 40 yrs old and was supposed to compete in April but decided to wait til November for a few reasons. But I am taking this as an opportunity to glide in this time. Last time I did it in 12 weeks and it was HARD. I want to enjoy prep a little more this time and look even better than my first show. This will be my final. As you know it’s hard prepping for these when you have family, work etc. I just want to be fit and have balance in my life. But it’s so rewarding walking on stage in the best shape of your life.
    I did a photo shoot at 40 and it was so fun. I will post some as I get going with my blog.
    All the best!! 🙂

  2. you will rock a teeny tiny bikini!!! no doubt!

Leave a Reply

