I’m a figure competitor :)

Posted: June 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

What a wild ride. This has truly been a remarkable journey, that ended (or began) on the eve of Father’s day, which is special for 2 reasons. Many of you know I lost my dad to cancer a few years back, and he has always been a huge motivating force in my life. He has always guided me spiritually and emotionally, and taught me that NO challenge is too big..no dream is too big….if you put your mind to it, you can achieve it. So dad, this is for you. You believed in me, more than I did myself. I miss you. The second reason this is special is, I am married to the MOST incredible man alive. My best friend of 20 years. We have been through a LOT together in 20 years as you would imagine…first apartment, marriage, 3 kids, and all that comes with that….. He has stood by me, giving me the space and time I needed to follow my dream. He has been my rock through this incredible time, picking up the pieces that I dropped along the way…

This journey reminded me that people ARE inherently good. People reach out to help, encourage and be there for you. I have had the most incredible support, just when I needed it. There were days when I would walk into the gym and curse under my breath at how much I would rather be sleeping than at the gym…on days like that I would get a message from Nia, Katie, Malecia, Debbi or Maranda telling me to hang in there, to persevere and to keep working hard….and to keep PUSHING…and texts from my coach Sara, telling me how strong I am, and how much she knows I can do this.

There were days when I would come home at night from the gym completely spent…knowing that Jeff was equally exhausted, with tears in my eyes…I never even had to say anything. He would just send me to bed and take care of the rest…

There were days where I doubted my reasons for doing this, and I would go on the LIO board or the figure competitor boards on Facebook, and find that I was not alone, or selfish, or silly for pursuing this dream…

I have not only discovered my best/strongest body, I have discovered my best/strongest mind, and part of my soul through this experience. I have met some wonderful people, and have made some incredible friendships.


On June 16, I became a figure competitor…two trophies, (Figure Short, Figure Masters Short) and a 5th place medal for Model Search. One journey ended, but a new one begins….

Here is a video my amazing sister friend Maranda put together for me. I still cry every single time I watch it. A heartfelt thank you to all of you who clicked ‘like’ to my Goodlife check-ins, for all the love, encouragement and support! I did it!!

Comments
  1. Tania says:

    you are a figure WINNER! I am inspired by your journey and what you’ve achieved 🙂 way to go, lady!

  2. Katie Squires says:

    bawling like a baby…so very proud of you..best line here is : “I have not only discovered my best/strongest body, I have discovered my best/strongest mind, and part of my soul through this experience. ” AMAZING

  3. Joania says:

    I’m a frigging wreck after reading this!!! Your dad’s heart and spirit shines ever so brightly through you!! I know he’s proud!! I adore u even more than normal for the level of sincerity in your expression of gratitude.
    Jeff… Jeff is a MAN! period! You can go to the moon and back with that kind of support and depth of love!!!
    I am so proud of you Liz!!! I know what it took! You trained like a rockstar even on the days that you hated it and now u can live ur life as the champ that u are!!! Stay strong always (body and mind)! Love you girl!!

    • Every time I read what you write Nia, it encourages me to keep pushing. Your confidence in me makes me feel ‘shiny’ inside. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for cheering for me, and bringing your babies even to the show!!! You are truly a great friend :)….

Leave a Reply

