21 weeks to go….the only constant I see, is change.

Posted: January 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

The time seems to be going really quickly…in the last couple of weeks, I have switched up my training routine a little bit to include ‘fun’ workouts. That coupled with finally being able to let go of all the stuff I shouldn’t be eating, I can see some more changes in my body.

I am planning on doing more of the same, trusting myself and my own judgement, reaching out to those who can help, and putting in the hard work. I need to keep stepping it up! There are lots of resources out there…learning tremendous stuff.

There have been times in the last couple of weeks where I have felt like I will not make it, that my body will not have evolved enough to compete. That may be a reality, but I am not going to let it alter my goal. I have decided to start taking weekly pictures, so that I can see the progress that I am making. Took my first set this weekend. Change is difficult, even if it IS positive change…the journey is challenging. I know that I am stronger, which means I am building muscle. It’ll be nice to see it!

Some of the things I have learned this week:

*Do not sacrifice form to lift heavy, you can still grow muscle lifting moderately heavy.

*Develop a strong ‘mind to muscle’ connection. Focusing on the muscle will help you work, and grow it.

*Do not waste even a single rep. Concentrate on the full range of motion. Doing any less, means you are wasting your hard work.

*You are not done, until you have hit each muscle. You’ll know when you do. This means, there are no rules. If it means you need to do 5 sets of one exercise, then do 5 sets. Sometimes you’ll be lucky, and hit the muscle just right at 3 sets.

I know there is SO MUCH MORE out there that there is to learn, but for now, I will focus on the above…and I’ll keep learning, working hard and CHANGING…for this is a necessary part of the journey…

21 weeks to go…wow…the time is going quickly…

Comments
  1. Chela says:

    Your journey is so inspiring! I love hearing about your transformation. Motivates me to work harder, too. 🙂

  2. Today we had a contest between the trainers to see who could do the most pushups to failure. Guess who won? A gal who’s training for her second figure competition :). She inspired me and made me think of you. I love the way you try to find solutions to obstacles in this journey… like making workouts more interesting. I’m trying to do the same thing for my clients, so be sure to share your ideas :).

    • That made me smile. I think that being happy and a life full of laughter is so important. Just as important as being healthy AND fit. If you are lucky enough to put those things together…magic happens. I will keep trying to find solutions…just as long as you keep sharing yours! 🙂

  3. Katie Squires says:

    I like the muscle to mind connection…how powerful is that…that your mind can you help you grow too!

Leave a Reply

