25 weeks out – A Fine Balance…

Posted: December 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

It’s been about 2 weeks since my last post. A lot has happened in 2 weeks, including an injury which had me off for a week. Things happen for a reason, and so maybe this needed to happen. In any case, I feel rested, and am back at it.

My trainer/coach is fantastic. I am happy to have her pushing me, coaching me, and leading me. What I am discovering is that while I have her, I also need to trust myself. Time for a little re-focusing, re-calibrating and balance. I have been gaining a little too much weight. It sucks to even write these words, but when I started this blog, I vowed that I would be honest and write about the good, the bad, and the ugly. Not that gaining weight was an unexpected part of this journey. In order to gain muscle, you need to eat to a bit of a surplus. My surplus is a little too much.

Instead of beating myself up about this anymore (trust me, I have) I am going to go back to what works for me. I believe that all bodies are different, and we know ourselves best. Time to trust that. Time to actually count those calories to find that delicate balance where I can gain some muscle, and not pack on the lbs…

25 weeks to go…

Comments
  1. This happened to me too Liz. I was determined to put on more muscle last spring/summer but knew I didn’t eat enough to support it. I only weighed 107 last winter! So I increased my calories last summer and did gain about 8 pounds, believe it or not. I figure about 5-6 of that is muscle, but I did go overboard. It’s all relative… I only really need to lose the other 2-3 pounds if I want an absolutely flat stomach. I’m not competing so it’s really not a huge priority. You’re right to go easy on yourself… it’s all very much a learning experience and competing is really tough stuff! (Especially the last 4-6 weeks ;)).

    • Wow! Thanks for that Suze!!!! It’s so great learning from you…how tall are you???

      I DO know my body, and what it needs. I’m going to switch things up a bit, and listen better. 🙂

      The lowest I have ever been in my adult life was 112…not huge amounts of muscle…so I’d be really happy at around 117 with lots of muscle. I’m going to lean out for a bit…see what lays beneath the chubb and continue…:)

      Eating clean is great, but I grossly underestimated the value in calorie counting. I’m hungry a lot due to my increased level of activity, so timing and counting will be paramount, until I figure out what my optimal range is.

      Any advice you have would be greatly, greatly appreciated!

      • I’m 5’3″, have always been small and am small-boned. I have trouble putting on muscle. I really believe in intermittent calorie counting! It’s a pain the butt but I do it in my iPhone using MyFitnessPal and only for a few days at a time. I’m hungry a lot too. I eat smaller mini-meals throughout the day. I go by how my clothes are fitting too. Let me know if you have any questions, would love to help any way I can :).

      • That is teeny! 🙂 I don’t think you have trouble gaining muscle though, you look like you’ve got lots! 🙂 once the craziness of the holidays subside, I will email you for sure. I’ll take all the help I can get! 🙂

  2. Katie Squires says:

    I like that your listening to yourself, your right you do know yourself best, and you WILL FIND YOUR WAY, the way that works for you….I am so very proud of you 🙂

    • Katie, thanks! Sometimes it’s tough, because I just want to apply all the knowledge that I am getting, forgetting that I actually do know my body pretty well. It’s ok. Excellent lesson learned. I will trust myself more. 😉

Leave a Reply

