Figure Competition.

Posted: November 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

My secret is out! I am going to be competing next year, in my first figure competition.

Last night, I attended the National Capital Fit Day Bodybuilding competitions. What an exciting, inspiring and SCARY event to watch. This was such a learning experience for me, in so many ways.

The first thing I learned is that you really need to be prepared to compete. Emotionally, mentally, and of course physically.

I learned the difference between being ‘wet’ vs. ‘dry’. Man. I am telling you, these athletes really push their bodies to extremes. Such dedication.

I learned (most importantly for me) that it is important to have a goal…to know why you want to compete, and to hang onto that goal…especially when Halloween happens, when Christmas happens, and when I drive by McDonalds craving those oh so delicious salty french fries…mmmm…Thankfully, our local McD’s is currently closed for renovations… πŸ™‚

Listening to the competitors share why they decided to compete was one of the most interesting parts for me. Moms, women wanting to transform their bodies, some of the woman said they wanted to compete for their self esteem, some wanted to prove to themselves that they could do it, and others wanted to bring their fitness to the next level. There were so many people from so many different walks of life, most with VERY different body types, shapes and sizes, and each one deserved a standing ovation. To go out on stage, after preparing for such an extensive period of time, wearing heels and a bikini IS scary…I could even see some of the competitors shaking…which will probably be me… πŸ™‚

I am so curious to see where this journey will lead…if I had any doubts before, I don’t anymore. My timeline (April) seems really aggressive based on the competitors that I have seen, but I will do my best to get there in time! Thankfully, I am inspired by many people that I have met, and am meeting along the way…

I wish I could take this feeling I have today, and bottle it for rainy days…:)

Comments
  1. missmia82 says:

    Liz you are one of the most dedicated and determined women I know…I totally admire how you set goals and work relentlessly to achieve them. I know you will be successful in this challenge and I am certain you will ROCK that bikini!!! It’s going to be a ton of work and it will take dedication to get there but you will…and I will be cheering you on every step of the way!! Good luck and count on me for support anytime. xx

Leave a Reply

