Hi, My name is Liz…

Posted: February 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

….and I am an emotional eater.

I keep thinking that this is just some kind of excuse to eat junk, and maybe sometimes it is, but it is a very real roadblock.

I said that I would share the good, the bad, and the ugly…so here we go. Time to share some ugly.

The last week or so has been terribly challenging, and without the intention to do so, I let myself fall off the wagon. I ate everything there was to eat. I got in my car, drove to the corner store, and bought myself all kinds of candy…then, ate it all, and then some. Cheesecake, bowls of cereal, you name it, I ate it. I also vowed that I would weigh myself daily. Yah, that didn’t happen. Truth? I was scared to see the damage.

And here I am today. New day, feeling a bit better. Still sad, still using food as a crutch. So, with today being the anniversary of my dad’s passing, I am going to give myself the day to do whatever I need to. Tomorrow, I will bravely step on the scale, see the damage, and get on with it. Ick. Not looking forward to this, but, accountability works.

Comments
  1. Melissa Khan-Bougie says:

    Hang in there! You’re a beautiful, strong woman! We all fall, but I know you’ll get right back up again!!

  2. Joania says:

    Liz,

    Pllleeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaase do NOT beat yourself up over this. I can’t tell you how many times I fell off the perverbial wagon. I think if you looked up emotional eater my picture would be in the dictionary. Although you should take pride in the small daily successes you should also recongnize that your real, true success will be and should be measured over time. You will have bad days, challenging days, down right shitty days but it’s what you do the DAY AFTER that matters. As long as you dust yourself off and keep moving forward. With today being as difficult as it is, I think it’s fine that you do whatever you want to do: eat, cry, laugh, remember! Tomorrow, just get on with it! You are a very strong and beautiful person. You will be fine and you will attain your goals. Hang in there hon..BIG HUGS to you!!

  3. Leigh says:

    Liz, you must not beat yourself up over this! I am an emotional eater too….so i understand. BUT, life is SHORT. When we are 80, we are NEVER going to look back and be so glad that we worried about every little thing we ate. We are never going to say, WOW, I should have spent more time tracking my calories than LIVING LIFE. Smell the roses Liz, every day. And sometimes, that means EAT THE CHEESECAKE. I love to eat. I love nothing more than a good wine, great food to be savoured and to be in the presence of loved ones and old friends. Without this, what is the point? We need food to live, balancing the requirements of our bodies and our minds (emotions, desires) etc is the KEY. As long as you are not binging 24-7, 365 you will be fine. BALANCE. Don’t sweat the small stuff (mars bars) cause it is all small stuff. And besides, you are just FINE FINE FINE the way you are! It is our perception of perfection that must change, not ourselves. (I will step off the soap box now). Go listen to a little Bruno Mars.

  4. Hello fabulous women. You know, I am in 1000% agreement with EVERY word that was written here. Melissa, I did get back on…Nia, you are absolutely right. It is the day after that matters.

    If you see my Friday Facebook posts, they usually have something to do with a wine opener, and some kind of new red wine. I ABSOLUTELY take time out to enjoy my favorite things, or else life would absolutely be a BORE, and we can’t have that…my challenge is finding the balance for sure, and spending more time ON the wagon, than OFF…because, I DO want to get to 80, 90, even 100, so that I can KEEP enjoying my family, and friends, and all of those delicious meals, and treats amongst my loved ones…

    I know you girls feel me. Thanks for reading, sharing, and all the words of encouragement, and wisdom. Means the world!!

  5. It’s been a few weeks since you wrote this post – how are yOu doing now?

Leave a Reply

